• Kelli Pagel


Updated: Sep 6, 2019

We are moving up to our fourth Chakra this week...our HEART CHAKRA! If you missed last week's post, I encourage you to check it out! Our fourth Chakra is so important for keeping the third Chakra alive and strong. As a reminder, our third Chakra is our Fire Chakra. Fire needs Air to stay alive and strong. Our fourth Chakra's element is AIR. We can have the energy and the will, but if we don't have the heart (air) involved, the fire starts to slow burn out.

We'll dive in deeper below!

The Heart Chakra is our fourth Chakra. If you notice down below in The 7 Chakras of the Human Body, you will see our Heart Chakra at the center of the chest, over our heart space. The color is GREEN. The Affirmation is I LOVE.

(GannaSorokina) ©

The Heart Chakra is called the ANAHATA CHAKRA, which means, UNSTRUCK, in Sanskrit.


In my opinion, this means that our Heart Chakra's goal is to try to help us remain in a peaceful, loving state, where we are not causing any hurt to ourselves or anyone else, physically, mentally, or spiritually.

(Tumana) ©

Our Heart Chakra is in the CENTER of our chest. The Heart Chakra is also in the CENTER of the entire Chakra system, and there is a reason for that! As we know, the element of the Heart Chakra is air. Air is found in the CENTER of our chest at our lungs. Without air, we wouldn't survive. Without our heart, we also wouldn't survive. Our heart and the air we breathe are at the CENTER of our being. You could say LOVE is also at the CENTER of our being as well. Think of a houseplant.... if it isn't cared for, nurtured, or shown LOVE, it usually doesn't survive. Our Heart Chakra is so important for our being and our survival. As the Third Chakra is important for DOING, the Fourth Chakra is important for BEING.

The Heart Chakra = LOVE. This LOVE is the verb LOVE...our right to love and be loved. Through love we care and nurture ourselves, our loved ones, our environment. All positive emotions come back to love and are rooted in love. Love can be shown through many ways and even with simple acts of kindness to yourself or others. We can hold open a door for someone or offer a smile to a neighbor. We can choose a healthy meal over junk food because we know it is more nurturing to our bodies. We can decide to not think negative thoughts about ourselves and instead choose positive, loving thoughts. Remember, Anahata means unstruck or unhurt. All of these are examples of LOVE!


● HELPING OTHERS: Simple acts of kindness or Volunteering and everything in between. Anytime we help others our Heart Chakra is energized and nurtured. Hurt of any kind cannot survive in kindness and love.

● BREATHING EXERCISES: Our Heart Chakra's element is Air. We can balance the Chakra with providing it deep, healing breaths. A great deep breathing exercise to try is to inhale for 4 counts, hold for 4 counts, exhale for 4 counts, and hold for 4 counts. Set a timer for 5 minutes and notice the difference after!

● GRATITUDE: Having a gratitude journal or simply thinking of 5 things you are grateful for each day is a great way to shift our attention to love.

●Yoga Postures, such as chest openers, shoulder openers, and backbends. Examples are Camel Pose (Ustrasana), Clasping hands behind the back to open the chest (Yoga Mudra), and Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana). See below!


As I mentioned in the last post, the middle Chakras can affect the Chakras above and below them, if they are unbalanced. If the Heart Chakra is unbalanced, we don't have the Air or Love to fuel the Fire of the Third Chakra (Solar Plexus Chakra), which can then cause the Second Chakra (Sacral Chakra) to become stagnant, which then leads to a fearful and unbalanced First Chakra (Root Chakra). We see that an unbalanced Heart Chakra affects the higher Chakras as well. Next week, we learn about the Fifth Chakra, our Throat Chakra, which is important for communication, speech and creativity. How might and unbalanced Heart Chakra affect the Throat Chakra?


Resource Used: Chakra Yoga by Anodea Judith

#chakra #chakrayoga #heartchakra #fourthchakra #anahata #unstruck #love #breath #air

#cobrapose #bhujangasana #camelpose #ustrasana #yogamudra

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All