• Kelli Pagel


Updated: Sep 6, 2019

After beginning at the Root Chakra last week, it is time to head to the Sacral Chakra space today. If you missed last week's post, I encourage you now to head back and look it over as the info on the Root Chakra is very important for understanding the Sacral Chakra.

Now...let's begin....

The Sacral Chakra is our second Chakra. If you notice down below in The 7 Chakras of the Human Body, you will see our Sacral Chakra at the middle of the hips of body. The color is ORANGE. The Affirmation is I FEEL.

(GannaSorokina) ©

The Sacral Chakra is called the SVADHISTANA CHAKRA, in Sanskrit. This translates to, "ONE'S OWN PLACE."

(Tumana) ©

Our Sacral Chakra lies in the space between the hips, the sacral bones and the lower belly.

The element of the Sacral Chakra is WATER. The Sacral Chakra governs our EMOTIONS, DESIRES, AND NEEDS. It is the Chakra of MOVEMENT AND FLOW.

Our emotions, desires and needs are very personal and individual to all of us. We connect to our desires and emotions through our senses. Our senses are internal and are OUR OWN. No one can tell us how to perceive our senses. For example, I couldn't tell you how you should perceive the smell of a rose. You would smell the rose and you would perceive that smell internally. The smell of the rose would invoke some type of emotion, hopefully happiness, and you would find that smelling the rose is pleasurable. That pleasure, emotion and sense of smell is your perception... your feeling... your OWN PLACE. Only YOU can feel it.

Water flows and moves. If we think about it, our emotions, desires and feelings do as well. If water isn't flowing and remains still, it can lead to murky, stagnant water. The same thing can happen with our emotions! Our emotions and feelings are meant to move. If we don't process or "move" our emotions, they can become stagnant just like the water and STUCK inside of us. We can become overemotional or highly sensitive. The opposite can happen as well and we can become withdrawn, fearful or avoidant of others and certain situations.

SO, how do we avoid this? What can we do to keep the Sacral Chakra balanced?


●Movement = Yoga, Dancing, Swimming, Running...whatever you enjoy! Just make sure you enjoy it! Movement activates our Sacral Chakra!

● Journaling - Moving the emotions through our words

● Certain Yoga postures that open the hips, such as Happy Baby Pose (Ananda Balasana), Lunges (Anjaneyasana) or Cobbler's Pose (Baddha Konasana). See below! To make Baddha Konasana more restorative, try it laying on your back, while bringing your heels together.


Again, we will get into more yoga postures as the weeks go on. Remember up above when I said that the Root Chakra is important to understand the Sacral Chakra. As a reminder, our Root Chakra relates to the Earth and Matter. We just learned our Sacral Chakra is Movement. What do we get when we combine MATTER AND MOVEMENT? (Think of rubbing two sticks together)....We get FIRE! And that will bring us to our Third Chakra next week. Our Solar Plexus Chakra or Fire Chakra!


36 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All